top of page
  • Writer's pictureVy Tran

Counting Down

Time has dragged for most of this year, but as we approach the holidays, it seems to be accelerating! We’re already on the second row of this advent calendar!


If the look seems familiar, it’s because I used elements from the November Paper Pumpkin kit again so that it would match the gift tags and ornaments I shared previously. In an ordinary year, I’d enjoy leisurely browsing my favorite big box store to find fun things to place in the drawers. But since it’s not an ordinary year, I decided to make an activity advent instead. So far, we’ve done things like listen to Christmas music, pick a charity, eat popcorn, make ornaments, make hot chocolate bombs, and look at old photos.


I love this countdown calendar because it has so much potential! It’s a very sturdy white box with white drawers. The kit already comes with numbers and beautiful papers to decorate the drawer fronts, but I like customizing it. You just need a 1-15/16” square piece of paper for each drawer. To create the notch, you can trace it out and cut, or if you have a 1” circle punch (retired), it goes even quicker. Last month, I used the same box to hold our gratitude lists, which we read at Thanksgiving. For that, I used bits from the August 2019 Paper Pumpkin. All that was required for the makeover was flipping the drawers over and decorating the back side.


Now that it’s almost the end of the year, Stampin' Up has announced which items from the August - December mini catalog are retiring, and many of them are discounted. The Christmas Countdown Project Kit is 50% off and is only available till it runs out, so I’m getting more! These would be so fun to use as a countdown to any special occasion (think birthday or end of school year, for example). They’d even make a cute little storage unit.


There are lots of products on sale and new items on the clearance rack if you want to shop with me at Stampin' Up.

 
bottom of page